Is Montevideo (Uruguay) worth A Visit?

I am planning a trip to south America (Argentina and Brazil), and am wondering if it is worth it to spend a few days in Montevideo.
I guess its a pretty laid-back place, where nothing much happens (the whole country has a human population of 3.1 million, vs. over 35 million cattle and sheep).On the plus side, Motevideo is said to have a great amount of Art-Deco architecture (which I love), and prices are pretty cheap.
Other than that, though, are there any good reasons to go there?
Please advise…I have to make reservations soon!

Moderator’s Note: In my humble opinion, there is not a great debate here.

It is a pretty laid back place, yup. Wether this is a pro or a con depends on what you seek.
There is a lot of old style arquitecture in the city, specially in the “ciudad vieja” (old city), where the style has been preserved rather well and has quite a lot of charm (i’m no expert).
You have nice beaches too. Night life is ok.
Economic crisis has hit hard. Very, very, hard. This is actually a plus for you cause if you bring dollars you can live it up quite a bit.

peace

Thanks, ChaoGod. Why is Uruguay so small (population-wise)? Did people come there and just decide to move on? I guess beef must be cheap though, with all those cattle!