Is now the time to sell my sealed copy of Madonna's aluminum bound "SEX" book?

I bought two of these aluminum covered beasts about 10 years ago when the first came out, one to look at and one to sell as a sealed collectors item. The sealed ones are running 100. to 200. or so on Ebay with first editions going for up to 275., although [this article](http://www.ohio.com/mld/ohio/entertainment/6149968.htm) says they can go for up to 500.00 (where?).

Here’s an example of a completed Ebay sale where one went unsold.

Anyway, I’m not really attached to this book but I don’t want to sell if the value will continue to climb. I can’t really see middle aged Madonna getting any “hotter”, but I am not familiar with how her more devoted fans might view her and her book.

I want dopers opinions re whether I should I sell or hold?

As a side note how can I tell if my copy is a first edition or not?

I have no experience in this whatsoever, but I say hold on to it. Wait for either Madonna to be hot again, or for her to die. I don’t mean that in a bad way.

Wait till she’s dead.

Yeah. 30 years or so, anyway. By then, it will be like sexy pictures of Marilyn Monroe. It will be much more valuable, IMO, if you wait a long time.

Dicey proposition. She’s three months younger than I am and with all that exercising she’s doing she’s probably going to outlive me.

So your heirs will cash in…

I doubt it will be much more valuable if and when she dies. There’s a good chance she’ll be not much of a celebrity by then.

Being a collector,mostly of music collectables, prices go way up after death. Try to get it autograhed, perhaps on the cover, that’ll really help.

I’d sell one of them now.

The problem is that unlike Monroe, there are zillions of Madonnabilia out there. Memorabilia always spikes immediately after the person dies, so maybe you’re better off waiting - even if there’s a lot of merchandise, you’ll still make more than if you sold it now.

I think.