Is 'Rome' worth watching?

Rome starts tomorrow on UK TV (BBC 2, I think). I’ve seen a few threads and assiduously avoided them for fear of spoilers. Is it worth seeing? I studied Latin pretty seriously 20 years ago - got a B grade at A level - read Livy, Tacitus, Caesar, Catullus et al in the original though I haven’t kept it up. So am I going to see historical howlers or have they kept things accurate?

I think they fudged around with some of the ages, but I don’t think you’ll see anything that “couldn’t” have happened otherwise. There are ficitonal characters mixed in with nonfictional ones. Most of the folks contributing to the threads here like it, and that includes some pretty knowledgeable clasicists. I’m enjoying it quite a bit. You won’t hear much Latin, although you’ll see some pretty racy graffiti.

Assuming you mean HBO’s Rome (and not the ABC mini-series that was wretched), you should like it quite a bit.

Good production values, interesting characters, salty language, nudity…hey, what’s not to like?

I loved CARNIVALE, SIX FEET UNDER and several HBO shows, but the few episodes I’ve seen of ROME while travelling in hotels are the first show to make me seriously consider adding HBO to my cable. It’s really good (and I LOVED their take on Cleopatra- about as far as you can get from the Liz Taylor femme fatale that’s been done to death).

Sounds like it’s going to be a night in tonight!

I gotta chime in with the majority on this one. I have been transferring it to DVD as we go along, and I’m really looking forward to an afternoon marathon viewing over the Xmas shutdown - it’s good enough to be a movie, and I can’t wait to watch it like that. Definately worth the watch!

Yes, it’s worth watching.

It didn’t really GRAB me at first like other shows have, and I wandered away a little. But then, I started catching stuff in replay, and I’m totally hooked now.

As for historical howlers: I don’t know. Did the Romans have Uzis?