Is self worth really dependent on others' approval?

So yesterday was my first exam, and I was in my typical, nervous, fretty mood. What if I have forgotten some important formulas? Worse, I haven’t been able to perform well under duress lately and is really out of shape when it comes to examinations – it is my first major examinations for three years. Can I cope with the pressure? Manage the time properly?

Among all the fretting, worrying and pondering, suddenly one small, still voice came through. “Why are examinations important?” Sounds like a dumb question, isn’t it? Examinations are important because…they are! (Yeah, guess I am kind-of dumb). That, and besides it decide my final grade, whether I’ll pass or fail and what class of honours I would get.

But is that really important? All of a sudden I feel very weary of all this academic paper chase. I used to be a straight As student before entering university, and getting fails and Ds for my subjects was something that is threatening to me. Oh dear, last time I was the cream of the crop, now I am the rejects among with the leftovers and remainders. I need my As and disctinctions, dammnit!

But on that day, as I fret and worried and pondered, I wondered why do I need those sparkling As for. Oh my gosh. I am twenty-three. Is my self worth really that dependent on what grades I get? Is being happy and getting good grades dependent? Why am I beating myself up for careless mistakes and failing to meet other’s expectations?

I can’t be getting As forever - I know that. I wish I am one of those brainy kids who knows everything. But I’m not – I am totally not in my elements this time round - mathematics. Why shall I beat myself up over it?