Is the earth getting heavier or lighter?

Cecil, great stuff.
Brings up an interesting side-thing, if there are so many more of us today, than say, 3 million years ago, than the surface of the earth has more weight on it, and the insides have less.?. I know, I know, it’s very insignificant, but still…

There are more of us, but a heck of a lot less bison, passanger pigeons, mastadons, rhinos, and Madagascar silver cloud-rats. Kinda balances off in terms of biomass, eh?

Uh, im no expert, (cough, cough) but I would guess, that people are made from stuff on the earth already, and grow bigger when we eat food created out of elements here on earth, and thus the amount of people on earth have no effect on the planets weight.

However, we are constantly being bombarded by meteors, space dust, and (according to x-files) aliens and their spacecraft. This, of course would make the earth heavier.

Depends, really, on how much weight we humans are sending into space, though. (rockets, satellites, etc) If forced to guess, i would say earth is getting hevier, due to all the space dust and meteors being drawn into the atmosphere by the earths gravity.

Then again, one must consider portals into other diminsions, gifts from heaven, etc.

can get confusing for a feeb.

Well no because you cant make a planet heavier by recombing the molecules and atoms already there. For instance, take a block of clay, make 100 balls. Seems like a lot more things but it’s still the same amount of clay (Sorry, thats the only analogy i could think of at the moment). But, i would gamble that the earth is getting heavier because of all the space junk we pick up while we travel through space.

ugh…damn typos…recombing = recombining

Ok, for clarity, the Earth is getting heavier, some of the replys seem to feel this post is in debate of that fact.