Is the interior of Antarctica knee-deep in dead penguins?

Ok, so I exaggerate, but still…

I’m thinking about those penguins as seen in March of the Penguins and how they trek inland into Antarctica each year. And that many of them freeze to death. And that it’s really, really cold there year round so I’d assume the dead penguins freeze. And that there isn’t anything else there to really nibble on them and the frozen situation should handle the microbes so…

…what happens to the dead penguins?

If a penguin dies by freezing, it seems to me that’s like fresh meat put in the freezer. So it stays good until the season changes enough for the penguin to be eaten by a bird of prey, I suppose.

From what I’ve read, it doesn’t really break freezing anywhere except along the some northern parts where it might scrape the thawing point. I’m not a penguin expert by any stretch but my impression was that the penguins travelled inland on the ice several miles, putting them firmly into “real friggin’ cold” territory.

Source

I’m sure there’s a simple answer to this, though :slight_smile:

If it’s warm enough for penguins to live, it’s warm enough for bacteria to live. That’ll take care of any dead carcass anywhere.

I just wanted to say, March of the Penguins is stupid, emotional claptrap. Pneguins don’t “love”. And this from an affirmed penguin lover. Watch “Life in the Freezer” with David Attenborough. Much, much better.

I have to say that this isn’t necessarily the case. I presume that penguins have some exceptional means of insulating themselves against their antargctic environment with materials such as fur and thick skin which are actually dead. While the outside could be -60 C, the pengin’s body temperature itself might be 15 or 20 C.

Once the bird dies, the bird cools below where bacteria can replicate.