is there a chemical way to get metal streaks off of ceramic?

We have white ceramic cereal bowls. They are now gray with streaks from the stainless steel spoons. I can reduce the gray so some extent with much intense scrubbing, but I’m wondering if there’s a cool, easy way to clean these bowls with the right material. I’ve used Comet cleanser and that seems to do it a little better. But I’m thinking there’s probably a chemical reaction I can take advantage of. Or no? Dopers?

As a tile installer, I remove metal marks with:

1. pencil eraser
  2. abrasive cleaner/sponge
  3. CLR cleaner

you could use hazardous chemicals to remove metal though there would be problems later for cleanup. it would takes lots of days of high liquid volume to clean and then decontaminate the bowls. something that would be done in a chemical lab but not for home.

ceramic is very porous and what you use to clean it will get into crevices and need to be removed for it to be food safe.

mild safer methods methods are best for food bowls.

use wooden or plastic or ceramic spoons.

One assumes they are glazed bowls - so porosity will be much less an issue.

Anyway, the obvious answer would by acid - in particular hydrochloric acid is easily available and used for removing metal markings on other surfaces. As to its toxicity - well it is and it isn’t. It is corrosive. It is dangerous when concentrated - so much so that I would actually be inclined to suggest you not try. But a simple washing of the bowl would remove pretty well all of it, and any residual is not toxic. Indeed, your stomach naturally contains hydrochloric acid in sufficiently high concentration to be usefully antiseptic and corrosive.