Is there a scientific term for heating metal in a furnace?

Hi

Is there a scientific term for heating metal in a furnace? I couldn’t find any. I look forward to your feedback.

induction heating perhaps?

Well, heating works. In the metallurgical world I once inhabited, heating is referred to by the more specific terms for the particular process/desired result/method. If you were heating to relieve stresses you would call it stress relief (sometimes called normalizing). If you were heating to soften you would say you were tempering. The more general term for heating with a purpose would just be heat treating.
Induction heating is a specific type of heating of ferrous (iron-containing) metals. There would also be gas-fired heating, flaming, resistance heating, etc. I don’t recall using a generic term for just making metal hotter.

So if I were making crucible steel for example, would it be ‘induction heating’ of the iron and carbon?

I’m no metallurgist, but I am an electrical engineer. Induction heating isn’t just generally heating metal in a furnace, it refers to heating a metal by subjecting it to a high-frequency magnetic field. The magnetic field creates tons of small eddy currents in the object being heated, and, like any (non-super) conductor, some of that energy is transformed into waste heat. There’s no burner or anything, the heat is being created in the metal itself.

If you were using an induction furnace to make your crucible steel, by heating up the iron until it melts, then you’d be induction heating the iron (and, by conduction, the carbon). If you were using a gas furnace or a resistance furnace or whatever else, not so much.

Like Toledo Jim said, I’m pretty sure the term you’re looking for is just “heating”.

I used to do some blacksmithing. We got really good at getting the metal to a certain temperature (and could eyeball it within 100º just based on the color of the metal).

We always used the word heating.