Is there an IP lawyer in the house?

Just a quick question - if I take the “Jaws theme”, redo it in MIDI, take a 14-second snippet of it and play it in a computer game I am writing as the shark swims by, am I violating copyright or does it fall under “fair use”?

If it isn’t “fair use”, I will try to sync license it if the price is reasonable (the game is not going to be a huge blockbuster so they better not charge me much). But wanted to find out first if I should go through the effort…

Very unlikely to be considered fair use. Your use is not parody, criticism, teaching, news reporting, research nor some other non-profit use. See this summary.

Thank you. I guess I gotta go call the publishers I found who (hopefully) hold the rights to it and see how much they will want.

I am a lawyer. I have a bit of experience in IP. This is not and should not be construed as legal advice. What you are planning to do could be construed as fair use. Or it could be not. Either way it could probably only be determined by rather expensive litigation which I am sure you wish to avoid.

Speak to a lawyer…pronto. I assure you he will be worth the money.

IANAL…

If the shark fin had a happy face painted on it, visible as the shark swims by - you might get away with parody - then maybe not.

The problem is that the two notes, particularly with original instrumentation, are instantly recognizable. Repeated, they form a substantial part of the “song”. It’s not like you are taking a little bit of “Jaws”, you are essentially approriating the entire concept and applying it to your game. If the intent is menace, you are obviously “copying” what the average Joe knows about the whole of Jaws and using it as shorthand. If the appearance of the shark fin is wildly inapproriate and intended to be humorous (you see the top of the fin go by outside the 10th floor window, for example) you might have an argument for parody.

Legal advice is best suited to IMHO.

Colibri
General Questions Moderator