Is there room to negotiate starting salary on a union job?

I had a great interview today for a university position. It’s a classified staff position with a stepped pay scale, but the starting salary is really low. I’m not sure if there’s any wiggle room in this situation as there would be in a non-union job. Does anyone have any experience with this?

Typical union wages have a sliding scale, for example “Starting wage 2,300-2,800 per month”.

If that’s not there, then you might be stuck with whatever wage was offered. I’d certainly call them and ask.

Depends on the union. Call and ask.

There may be a sliding scare which you can negotiate your placement on the grid. For instance I have been a Registered Nurse for 13 years, different employers will start me at different spots (oh you haven’t been here before, back to step 1, or well we are looking for someone with more experience in mental health, we will put you at step 4 to reflect some of your work.) Its usually a bit of a game and expect to be toyed with a bit.

My most recent hirings in BC put me at top spot on the grid, where I should be. (There are nine increments) I was very pleased not to have to argue my step.

So, I don’t know, hopefully you have experience that can help you within your range?

Once you get the job offer, they’re not going to rescind if you ask if salary is negotiable. Just ask, “Is there any wiggle-room in the pay or benefits?” Perhaps there is no wiggle-room for pay, but you might be able to finagle some extra paid time off, or a higher employer contribution to your 401k, or something. And even if there is no wiggle room in anything, they’re not going to rescind the offer just because you asked.

Just ask! =)

At most Union Universities, base pay is Union negotiated, usually no wiggle room. However, you can get supplementary pay on top of the base, which can be substantial (more than base in many cases).