Is there such a thing as a message board emulator?

I would like to view my posts before they are posted. I use the preview post feature and always have to make corrections, this takes time, and the phone line needs to be open which costs money. Is there some sort of emulator I can get that will allow me preview my posts off line?

Thanx.
:cool:

Hmmm, if there isn’t, it wouldn’t be hard to make one <thinks>…

Just install vBulletin on your system at home.

** Mangetout ** wrote

Well, maybe for you, I’m not a programmer. I was thinking something like you paste your text here, click ok and it generates a page
showing how the post will look.

** Arnold Winkelried ** wrote

I got my mitts on a copy, it didn’t work, I think it wants my computer to be a server or something, at least I couldn’t get it to run.

That’s what I meant; I’m trying to decide whether to have a go at it or not; the easiest way to do it would probably be to let the user type in the vB code and then show a rendered version of it, but the nicest way (for the user) would be if you could select a block of text and apply format, like in a word processor.

** Mangetout** wrote

Well of course that would be neat and easy for the user, but something as fancy as that would be a pain to build. I was thinking about something like a window on top and a window on the bottom, you type your post and appropriate codes in the top and it shows the formatted text on the bottom, or something…besides, if its real fancy then you would have to charge me a lot for it. But I bet with all the message board users out there people would buy it (I’ll be your beta tester).

Actually, it may not be all that hard; the vB tags translate pretty literally into HTML tags…

You have a legal copy of vBulletin in your possession, but do not know how to set it up on a server? What about all the “how-to’s” online in the private area of vBulletin that you have access to when you have a legitimate license number? Did you try those?