Is this definition of calendar year wrong?

Isn’t ‘calendar year’ the year from January 1 of 2016?

These terms can be used in all sorts of different ways in different contexts, and by different people. Which is exactly why the source of your quote was careful to define their terms.

I agree with the definition you’ve quoted. So no, I don’t think it’s wrong.

calendar year is the most recent 365 days?

Interesting. I think I would intuitively use calendar year to mean what they’re using Year To Date to mean. But I understand where they’re coming from. I guess the phrase is itself somewhat ambiguous. Does calendar year mean the time as of now measured by the current calendar or the total amount of time measured by a yearly calendar.

Here’s what Merriam-Webster has to say:

So they take either definition you’ve provided as accepted. Chronos is right, context matters.

As a payroll accountant, I agree with the “year from January 1 to December 31” definition, and I generally use the term “calendar year” to differentiate from our fiscal year (July through June). But clearly other people use it different ways.

It can be. For me personally, I consider it Jan 1 - Dec 31, but I don’t make the definitions.:smiley:

We also use the fiscal year vs. calendar year designation where I work. Calendar year means any date that ends with that year. Fiscal year for us is Sept. 1st through Aug. 31st.

Man, that’s messed up.

In our accounting software, the calendar year is Jan 1 to Dec 31 and the fiscal year is the 12-month period from the start of your fiscal year, as others have said above. It uses “Rolling 12” to indicate the previous 12 months from today (or some specified date).

But I agree there isn’t a single correct definition.

From a finance perspective:

Calendar year - Jan 1st to Dec 31st
Year to date - from the beginning of the year (calendar or fiscal) to current period end, i.e. 3 months, 6 months, 9 months, etc.