Is this honest? Or is it retail fraud?

Somebody I know is getting grocery coupons from a friend. Good coupons for free items. From what I understand, they are bought and sold online.

I know for a fact that the coupons are frauds because I work in the grocery business and my company no longer takes them. That and the fact that they are obviously scanned computer copies, poorly done I may add. However, there are still chains in the area that take them, knowing they’re not any good.

So, is this retail fraud or not? I want to say it isn’t, because the stores take them knowingly but their basically counterfeit coupons. What do you think?

Seems to me, if the coupons are redeemable, or accepted as cash money, no…If they are not, why are you taking them? IMHO…

A lot of groceries in our area are posting notices that they’re not taking certain types of internet or printed-from-computer coupons because of fraud.

I say it’s not honest, and it’s fraud.

Besides, you shouldn’t be having to PAY for coupons. That’s a red flag right there (IMNSHO.)

A lot of groceries in our area are posting notices that they’re not taking certain types of internet or printed-from-computer coupons because of fraud.

I say it’s not honest, and it’s fraud.

Besides, you shouldn’t be having to PAY for coupons. That’s a red flag right there (IMNSHO.)

There are two things going on. Trading in valid coupons, even printed off the Internet, is pretty much okay. Some companies don’t like it for some strange reasons. These coupons are accepted by the manufacturers from the stores. The store doesn’t lose money.

Then there are people faking coupons. The manufacturers don’t accept them from the stores. The stores lose money. Not good.

It is strangely very odd, given bar codes, POS systems, etc., to tell them apart so some stores no longer accept Internet coupons. But there will probably be a fix.