Is your genetic code fixed at birth?

Or can it change due to environmental factors as you go through life? I’m referring to the genetic code that you pass on to your offspring through breeding (i.e. It is my understanding that one of your risk factors for certain diseases, such as heart disease, is heredity (it’s “in your genes”). Can the risk factor you are going to pass along to your children be increased or decreased due to enviornmental stimuli you experience post-natal, especially if experienced during those early stages of development when your body is changing rapidly?)

Please note that I am not a doctor, nor a scientist. My basic assumptions may be wildly mistaken, so please correct any fallacies I may have stated or implied.

Your DNA is, basically, fixed.

Changes result, as I recall from science programs, in cancer.

Your genetic code is fixed, and can’t be changed except by “accident” (chemical or radiological damage).

You genetic code can change only through mutation or changes that occur as a result of the environment. These can include exposure to radiation (sunlight) or chemicals (cig smoke).
These changes to your DNA can only be passed on to your offspring if they occur within the DNA of sperm or egg. If sure that other experts will speak to this.

No. A mutation can cause trouble in some cases, and not cause any trouble at all in others. The trouble doesn’t have to be cancer related either. As others have said, the change can caused by the environment, or a copying error.

There are cases of (apparently new) germ line (egg and sperm) mutations that can cause trouble in the offspring.