Israeli Defence Forces Question

I read in a book about the Six-Day War, which said that, (amongst the personnel in all branches of the Israeli Defence Forces), there is a great amount of informality between officers and enlisted personnel, specifically that there is no saluting and officers can be called by their first name by the enlisted personnel under their command. Is this still the case today??

Short version – To a large extent, yes.

Long version:
Saluting is pretty much reserved for formal settings. As an ex-HQ officer, I can confidently say that if you’re stepping in to your commanding officer’s office for a work-related meeting, you just step in and say “hi…”. If it’s a really big meeting with a big-wig (read: General) heading it, then the General will enter last and the rest of the participants will rise briefly and immediately be told to be seated – but this is already regarded as a formality.
An Enlisted person (non-NCO or Officer) is supposed to salute anyone from Lt. Col. and up on HQ base; strong emphasis on “supposed” – it’s on the rules, but it is pretty much obeyed only by the MP’s at the gate, and any officer who insisted on being saluted would be ridiculed as a pompous ass.
First-name basis? If you’re acquainted with a person well enough to feel comfortable calling them by their first name in a civilian setting, then you’ll probably call them by their first name in a[n] (Israeli) military setting, too…

In the field, I believe that things are even more so than in HQ; certainly things are far from the formal behavior one becomes accustomed from thinking of as “military” when watching American movies.

But (and we’ll need input from American military personnel here) – I wonder how much this “Formal Conduct” really exists in well-established U.S. field units? I will personally be surprised if it’s as formal as one may be led to believe, but I honestly have no idea.