I've got camphor! What can I do with it?

I recently came into possession of a small vial of pure camphor. There’s about five grams, most of it in a single crystalline lump.

It smells nice. What else can I do with it besides smelling it? Can I put it in my bath? (If so, how much?) Can I grind it up and mix it with mineral oil to make a balm? (If so, what ratio of camphor to oil should I use?) I’ve also heard that it can be burned as an incense; anyone have experience with this?

Is possessing camphor a rarity where you are? Is it hard to buy? When I was a teenager and an amateur chemist, I was able to buy a nice sized package at my local pharmacy. It came sealed in cellophane but I transferred it to a glass jar.

It was absolutely useless. I think I randomly added a bit to other more interesting substances (possibly hydrochloric acid, but my memory fails me) to see what would happen. I got bored. The stuff remained in that jar until my mother threw away my chemistry set when I was away at college. I didn’t notice for two years.

And what happened ? I’m not a chemist…

Nope. I got it from the pharmacy for a little more than a euro. It was one of those spur-of-the-moment things. Now that I’ve got it I have no idea what to do with it. But I am keen to try something.

You could do s’mores, canoeing on the lake and ghost stories.

That’s what we always used camphor…

Well, it smells nice, at least to some people.

It repels insects, if you want to, you can put it with your clothes.

Its an active ingredient in those cold and flu home remedies, vaporized in a vaporizer or rubbed on the skin to give you the vapors.

You can, in fact, even eat it. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Camphor#Culinary_uses

Bravo :slight_smile:

I have heard of it, but I don’t know it is or what it’s used for.

Sent from my SM-G935V using Tapatalk

38 amazing benefits of camphor