James Galway, flute soloist, has the music in front of him

It’s the first time I’ve ever seen a soloist (of long hair music) do this.

Isn’t this sort of odd?

The music,BTW, was Ibert’s Flute Concerto.

I’m not an expert on flute solos, but where else would the music be if not in front of him? Or is it surprising that he hasn’t memorized it?

The latter.

In all the concerts I’ve attended, and seen on TV, the soloist always had the evening’s piece(s) memorized. This applies to violinists,pianists, cellists, kazooists and ocarinaistas.

I’ve never seen a classical soloist who had to have the music in order to play, except for once. When I was a kid, we had some community concerts and one was a pair of pianists. They did use music. I remember it vivdly because my grandfather – who knew his classical music – had utter disdain for the musicians for doing so.

I’ve seen Rampal perform and he didn’t have music then. Maybe this was toward the end of his career when he needed some extra help.

Would you be more impressed if you thought he was sight reading?

I remember hearing a radio discussion about this once. There’s a lot of pressure on concert musicians to play a piece without music - but why? It’s become the accepted norm. We would laugh at a musician who needed the music in front of him/her.

But when you actually think about it, there’s no particular reason why not having the music should make the pianist (or whatever) play the piece any better. In fact they would probably play it better with the music there so they don’t have to fret about remembering the next bit.

It should be just a test of how well the musician can play but it’s become a test of two different things - playing ability and a memory test. What if you happen to be a great musician with a shit memory?

The orchestra does the same - sight reads? No rehearsals? Everybody juat goes on stage and wings it? Are you serious?