Jinxing the troops?

First off, let me say that I was involved in the early ('65-'68) years of the war in Vietnam. So I was a civilian and a vet for the remainder of the war and afterward, and had a lot of contact with loved ones of the military still over there.
There was a pervasive belief among many of the families and friends that to complain or object about the war could somehow jinx the Soldiers and Marines still in combat areas. At the very least a “better not to risk it” feeling.
I get the familiar feeling sometimes when I see interviews of f&f of the people stationed in Iraq defending the war.
Do some families share this feeling?
BTW; This was one of the superstitions also held by some of the military in Vietnam. There were plenty.
Again, I am profoundly agonized by what’s happening, and have quit watching such tributes and interviews for now.
Peace,
mangeorge

Of course any family will be emotional when their loved ones are in combat.
However there is no evidence for this superstition.

There is evidence that it matters who you vote for.

I didn’t vote for Bush, if that’s what you mean. I’ve heard there’s some animosity abroad toward those who did, but that’s another thread.
I don’t know any family of combat troups in Iraq. There aren’t many in England, are there?

Jinxes don’t exist.

Oh. no? Then who was that chasing Pixie and Dixie around?

I’ve never heard of it as a “jinx” per se, but stated as “if you protest the war, the troops will find out and get demoralized, and that’ll hurt them in combat.” (This is when the “protest the war but support the troops” arguments come out, typically.)

And when has there been a major effort to protest the war and demean the troops?

All the anti-war folks I know have nothing against the troops, just the chimp giving them the damn fool orders.

Voting for Blair also meant troops got sent, but I just meant that although the jinx is not verified, it does matter which politician gets elected.