Joining the U.S. Military

Is it a bad time to join, or should I wait until after the elections? Or is it just really a bad choice over-all in these times? Or is it a good choice? Or what!!?

Every time I tell someone I am joining they call me an idiot (not that I actually am or anything :rolleyes:).

I don’t want to make a mistake.

Full disclosure: I’m a vet, so I’m biased.

Joining the military can be a great thing for some people. It can be a disaster for others. Some people just can’t cut it. If you can handle it, you’ll benefit from the experience in more ways than you can imagine.

Yes, there is some risk. There’s risk in anything you do in life.

The military will teach you discipline, instill confidence, and give you some time to figure out if you want to make a career of it, or serve your hitch and then pursue other things as a civilian. I’m glad I served. Hell, if I’d stayed in, I’d have retired this month, and have a pension and free medical care for life.

Do you support the current non-wars in which the U.S. is involved?

You will be risking your life; you should support current U.S. military involvements and foreign policy.

That ain’t what military service is about. Soldiers do not make policy. They carry it out. If you raise your right hand and take the oath, you’re committed. Administrations change. Wars come and go. The military remains, ready to serve as needed.

No, but soldiers do, in a sense, enforce some aspects of governmental policy. Whether you need to/should agree with it to do that is, IMO, a decision someone needs to make on their own.

A friend of mine is in the military (reserves or guard, I forget which). He loathes it, says it’s the greatest collection of chuckleheads you could possibly imagine, got screwed over by his recruiter and various others and now has a couple extra years of service, and is counting the days until he gets out. He also has an easy-as-hell job - he plays the trombone in some band, part time. Still hates it.