Just installed Linux...I'm Impressed

As a lifetime Windows user I never really had much experience with Linux but have always been curious. The other day I downloaded and installed the latest version of Ubuntu Linux and I have to say I’m impressed. It installed with very little trouble, didn’t destroy my copy of XP which was already installed, and most features seem to work. I’m a network admin running a 2003 domain and I was pleasantly surprised to see that I can access network shares, printers, and could even setup the included email client with my Exchange server, all with little to no effort. I can browse the internet, get updates to the operating system, and download/install any apps that might be useful. It even comes with an RDP/VNC client which works great with Windows servers and desktops.

So this is just my way of spreading the word now that I see the value of it. Being free there is nothing to lose in trying it aside from a little time. Give it a try, you may be pleasantly surprised like I was.

Yeah, but how do I get Doom from a TAR to an installed app?

:slight_smile:

Don’t you have to enable Outlook Web Access to get Evolution working with Exchange, though?

I’ve got a fun little thing, I’ve got the entire distro running off a 1 gig flash drive. Stick it into any computer that’ll boot off flash, and I can do whatever I want. Based it on the liveCD, so it autodetects things, and I can add whatever drivers or programs I want, as well.

Yes, it was on already so no big deal there. I like the idea of a USB Live version, makes it almost impossible to screw things up which would be good for me. :wink:

http://usbuntu.com/ started me off. That’s how to partition everything… but name the second partition casper-rw as that makes it persistant. That’ll keep various settings around.
I like an OCZ drive, very fast read speeds.
http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=168852

There’s just one issue: Sometimes the USB stick likes to bork itself.