Kanji

New poster long time reader

I have been thinking about getting a Kanji tattoo, but I do not want to get something that i think means one thing but actually means another.
I am just wondering if any of you know if this symbol actually means “Happiness”

In actual meaning it is closer to “lucky” but for some reason translators often translate it as “happy”.

I sympathize with you in advance about the avalanche of snide responses you’re probably going to get about why you shouldn’t get a kanji tattoo.

It’s been a few years since I studied Japanese, but don’t many of the characters have multiple possible meanings? If that’s the case, it might not be possible to find a character that means “only” what you want.

Yeah, a lot of people are going to tell you that it’s a bad idea to have something that you can’t read indelibly written on your skin.

If I were going to get “happiness” as a tattoo, that is not the character I would choose.

Some possibly better choices:

幸福

This is true but the one mentioned by the OP ( 福 ) is pretty reliable. If you want to get downright technical about it, it doesn’t have any meaning at all. It signifies the word fragments fuku or saiwai which generally mean happiness or good luck, although they can be used purely for sound value as part of some other word.

Brain Wreck, where were you when I needed to know how to write “You gonna eat that?” for a tattoo I wanted…

How about a nice proverb instead?

http://www.oneaday.org/archives.html

Wild with joy

Happy and pleased with oneself

May you be happy and prosperous

To dance for joy

Never forget the source of your happiness

Beam with happiness

Just a note, the font is not considered attractive.

I won’t be among those saying you shouldn’t get a kanji tattoo (though it is somewhat faddish and I have to resist the urge to look down on flash).

But if you are going to get a kanji make sure you get it from someone with a decent sense of calligraphy.