Kaspersky Vs AVG

A friend of mine has the Kaspersky Antivirus and Internet Security stuff loaded on her computer. They are hounding her to renew at a price of $35.00 and I believe she would be equally protected by the free version of AVG, even though I know nothing about Kaspersky. She also has some version of Norton loaded on her computer.

She has a Toshiba laptop, model unknown. She has Windows 7 and is using Firefox as her browser.

Should she renew Kaspersky or let it lapse?

Firstly, if you mean she’s got Norton antivirus running then she shouldn’t have that going at the same time as Kaspersky. Never have 2 antiviruses running as they interfere with each other.

I always think that paid for ones are better than free ones on the grounds that I envisage the paid ones will be able to employ hordes of computer geeks to combat new viruses and malware as they appear. I have no knowledge as to whether this is true it’s just a notion I have.

Also I read somewhere that AVG isn’t good at spotting trojans whereas kaspersky is good at everything. Again though I don’t know how true that actually is.

The free version of AVG has caught everything I’ve hit in a year of wandering aimlessly around the net.
Now, I’m not opening emails from people I don’t know, and I don’t click on any ads, or even copy links from posts or emails into my address bar.

I use Firefox, the newest version.

If it’s a choice between free and paid, AVG has a paid upgrade level as well.