Kid lit you read as an adult

(Also included are movies, TV, magazines, etc).

I’ve been getting Ranger Rick since I was about seven, and I still get it. The pictures are just gorgeous to look at. And even though the articles are geared towards tweens, they still can be fun and informative.

I still think the Sesame Street movie Don’t Eat The Pictures is funny. And I’m not the only one, apparently. The top reviewer on Amazon says she likes to watch DETP, too- and she’s 27.

And I’m looking foward to the publication of the last Percy Jackson book. Er, that is to say, my brother will want to take it out of the library, and when he’s not around someone might very well read it.

As a teacher, I read tons of kids’ lit. My recent favorite is Diary of a Wimpy Kid. It’s genuinely funny, especially the bit about the protagonist’s role in Wizard of Oz.

Of course I read Harry Potter, and I still find the original book to be the most charming, capturing a wonderful childlike sense of whimsy and discovery.

I’m currently “at critical mass” on The Graveyard Book. Although the plot is more simple and the events simply and briefly told, and the “twists” have been obvious even to this sometimes oblivious grownup, it is still a delight. I find myself wishing my daughter were older so she could read this and **Coraline **right now, without being traumatized.

Oh are we doing TV and movies too? My husband and I like Phineas and Ferb altogether too much. (Aren’t we a little old to be watching it? Yes, yes we are.)

Books- Roald Dahl and Frank Baum still hold up great.

TV - Worzel Gummidge.

I suppose what you consider “kid lit” is partially determined by how old you are. At my age, I consider anything teenagers read as “kid lit.” Having said that, I didn’t read Tarzan until I was in my 40s, and I instantly regretted not having discoveredthe series when I was much younger. It is better than the movies.