Kitty Litter....which to choose?

Now that I am a cat servant, I need to consider what would be best for our cat pooping needs.

The stuff his former owner used was the $1.97 a bag stuff from walmart. She would put a large garbage bag in/around the bottom of the kitty litter tray, pour in the stuff and put the top thingie on it. In one week she would just remove the bag.
I think this is a swell idea. Roughly about$4.00 a month for litter and I already have that size bag in stock.
I know that I will probably get flamed for being cheap and lazy but at this new stage of the game, I am not ready to deal with kitty poo and scooping.
What works for you?

I’ve been doing the same thing for 13 years. I do recommend some Arm & Hammer Cat litter deodorizer in the bottom before putting in the litter, it works wonders.

(I know I’m just too lazy to scoop. Poopy cat would end up going in a pan full of lumps.)

We’ve been palying around with various litters, and have tried the corn-based, pine-scented junk. We keep coming back to the tubs of Stater Bros. (a local grocery chain) litter. The kitties don’t seem to mind. We scoop every day, but that’s just us. Save your money on the deoderizer, and just sprinkle generic baking soda on the bottom of the pan before you pour in the litter.

When you scoop, you will notice that the cats will head for the box the second you are done. Fastidious little creatues just like to poop in a fresh field. Of course, pressure eventually leads to SNR’s cat’s approach. :smiley:

For years I was buying Arm & Hammer scooping litter. At some point a few months ago, I realized what a waste of money this was. I’ve got 4 cats and simply change the two boxes every two days. It works for us. So, the scooping feature was a waste.