Kurt Godel and the US Constitution

Godel was probably the greatest mathematical logician of the past century. He was also quite eccentric, having a Howard Hughes-like obsession with germs and that sort of thing.

Anyway, during his life he became a citizen of the United States. During the process, he was asked about the Constitution. As I understand, he then went off in a long diatribe about how the Constitution was worthless, having a logical contradiction(s?)/inconsistency within it. In fact, I have also heard that for several years he absolutely refused to become an American citizen for that very reason.

Does anyone here know any of the details of this? In particular, does anyone know what, specifically, in the Constitution he was referring to?

I have no knowledge on this topic, but seeing as how that never stops anyone…

Maybe after he proved his incompleteness theorem he realized that everything of sufficient complexity is inherently inconsistent so he decided to become a citizen?

It sounds like a made up story to me.

everything of
sufficient complexity is inherently inconsistent

Actually, his incompleteness didn’t prove that that the system would be inconsistent, but that it would be incomplete, not necessarily inconsistent–i.e., there would be theorems (truths) for which there were no proofs. (He also proved, however, that if a formal system can prove its own consistency, it is therefore inconsistent, which is what you’re getting at).

Anyway, I feel quite sure there is some truth to the Constitution story, I just don’t know of what nature. I have read of it in many reliable sources, unfortunately none of which I can specifically recall at the moment, other than that they were respectable, dependable sources.

BTW, ignore that phrase at the beginning of my previous post. I cut and pasted it so I would remember what I was referring to, and forgot to delete it. Sorry.

Here is some information:

http://www.linguafranca.com/9802/hyp.html