Labor Law/New Overtime Regulations: Professional Exemption for Paralegals?

The new Dept. of Labor regulations regarding eligibility for exemption from overtime pay will become effective on Aug. 23rd, and they include a rather substantial revamping of the definition of who is considered an exempt professional. I’m a paralegal, and the management of my firm has been in quite a tizzy trying to figure out whether they need to revamp their overtime policies to comply with the new regulations, and if so, how. We’re having a big meeting about it tomorrow morning, and it could get innnnteresting, to say the least.

(Others among you who are currently classified as exempt at your current jobs may find this interesting, too: the whole fact sheet about the new regs is online at http://www.dol.gov/esa/regs/compliance/whd/fairpay/main.htm)

Currently paralegals at my firm are considered exempt, and we put in significant amounts of unpaid overtime. However, practically all the other mainstream, reputable firms in my firm’s legal specialty either pay overtime to paralegals, or paralegals actually work something resembling 9-5.

The crux of the issue, from my brief and not terribly well-informed reading of the new regulations, has to do with whether paralegals can legitimately be classified as “learned professionals.” The definition, from the Dept. of Labor website:

http://www.dol.gov/esa/regs/compliance/whd/fairpay/fs17d_professional.htm
“Learned Professional Exemption
To qualify for the learned professional employee exemption, all of the following tests must be met:
§ The employee must be compensated on a salary or fee basis (as defined in the regulations) at a rate not less than $455 per week;
§ The employee’s primary duty must be the performance of work requiring advanced knowledge, defined as work which is predominantly intellectual in character and which includes work requiring the consistent exercise of discretion and judgment;