Land mines - dangerous to extract - dangerous to plant?

Old landmines are dangerous to extract. The disabling and unburying of these mines takes a steady hand, and still sometimes … KABOOM!

So, are they just as dangerous to plant? I assume that when the hole is dug and they are buried, they aren’t armed. So how are they armed, and how do the planters know that the dirt on them isn’t depressing the plunger (or activating the firing mechanism)? Do they sometimes explode when armed? And are the soldiers sometimes hurt by this?

I am not an expert, but her Majesty’s firebreathing Danish Army did train me on a few types of the ugly things.

They’re nowhere near as dangerous to plant, it’s depressingly easy.

It depends on the mine type and the terrain. Your basic pressure-type anti-personnel mine is just armed and placed in a pre-dug hole - the smaller types fit neatly in the depression you can make with a sledge-hammer blow to the soil. Depending on the amount of vegetation, you can just put them in a shallow hole (having the plunger slightly above round level) or you can put a bit of dirt, sod etc. over them. Activation pressure is 1-5 kg, that’s quite a bit of dirt.

Tripwire mines aren’t armed until the tripwires are in place and you can verify that they’re not pulling sufficiently on the detonator system. Only then is a safety pin removed.

One major difference betwwen planting and disarming mines is that when you plant mines, they’re fresh out of the box and known entities - when you demine, the mines might be rusty, wet, cracked, halfway activated.