Laptop short circuit symptoms

Never have had a laptop short out but this is apparently what would happen if water gets into the circuitry. What could I expect to see?

A laptop that “flickers” while operating, starts fine but then shuts down abruptly without warning, or never starts up at all?

I don’t think there is a single answer for this. I’ve seen water, soda, and various other fluids spilled into both laptops and keyboards and the results can range from none to immediate death (of the device).

I’m not an electrical engineer but my guess is that it would ‘pop’ while starting up or while in use and then go dark.

Newer laptops seem to be more spill resistant so it’s possible that the spill didn’t reach the circuit board. But once it makes contact with electrical components on the board, then that’s probably the beginning of the end, which could happen as soon as you start it again or may not happen until there’s enough corrosion to create problems with the flow of the current.

Generally, The first thing that happens is that the keyboard stops working. Then, after some time, the entire computer will cease to function correctly. It’s very rare to have flames or smoke - usually it’s just a silent death, as the motherboard gets corroded.

The three bad things in this situation are: 1. Water. 2. Cruft (dust or things like the sugar in soda). 3. Electricity.

Pure water alone on a circuit board with no dirt or electricity has a good chance of doing no harm as long as it dries out before use.

Even if you spill pure water on a laptop there’s going to enough dirt/lint inside that it will push those things to potentially bad places.