Laptops and SCSI?

OK comp geeks out there, heres my issue. I’m a sound designer/composer for theatre which means I spend my life running back and forth between my recording studio and various theatres around town editing sound cues and music to fit to time, etc…

I currently own two Dell MiniTowers both of which have SCSI host adaptors so I basically write all my work to an external SCSI hard drive and then leave one computer at the theatre, and one in my studio and just put the drive in a briefcase and take my work back and forth. The Hard drive issue is serious here, since I deal with massive amounts of multitrack audio (a typical project usually takes up 3 to five gigs of HD). Storage Drives and ZIP stuff aren’t really an option. I need high speed read/write drives. And I don’t just use the SCSI drives for transfer. They are the primary drives for my work, I find that readng and writing multitrack audio is best left to a drive that doesn’t have to share cycles with and OS and operational utilities.

Anyway… this set up is functional, but after spending the last 2 years packing up my big ass desktop PC and carting it around the world, I’m kinda over it. I’m wondering if I could accomplish the same thing with a laptop. Is there a way to fit a a laptop with a reasonably fast SCSI host adaptor? or somesort of converter (USB to SCSI?) that would allow me to continue working in the same manner I’m used to, but with out the big ole box?

In case this effects your thinking, I’ll also need a USB sound card for I/O, and probably a USB mouse since I can’t stand the little touch pads.
Thoughts?
thanks in advance…
CJ

USB is WAY too slow for a SCSI drive.

Well, Adaptec does make a USB>SCSI device, but they admit on thier web site that its too slow for mid-high range applications. You would need something more like this http://www.adaptec.com/worldwide/product/proddetail.html?prodkey=APA-1480A&cat=%2FTechnology%2FSCSI%2FSCSI+for+Laptops.