LASIK in India

I have really bad eyes- farsighted, astigmatism, the works. But my eyes are stable.

I am in India right now. I have been wearing the same contacts for four years. I cannot afford new ones, and cannot see a time when I will be able to. Frankly I’m sick of contacts (been wearing them since I was 10) and especially not being able to afford new ones regularly.

LASIK is cheap and popular here. They have many clinics, with the newest wavefront technology (which can help my astigmatism). I’ve looked in to what machines are FDA approved, and they are readily availible here. It would be around $300 an eye, versus a couple thousand in the States.

I know anything I do in India will not be 100% safe, but is it reasonably safe to get it done here? Could I do my aftercare in the US and how much would that cost? Do you know of any good doctors, preferably in the Delhi area?

I am just thinking about this, and I’m not commited to the idea. But it sure would be nice.

Please don’t answer if you are just going to speculate that it is not safe because it is India. I am looking for people with experience and facts on the subject.

I checked into getting LASIK done in Thailand (when we lived there, about 3-4 years ago). It was less expensive but the doctors I found hadn’t done nearly enough surgeries to satisfy me. Otherwise I’d have done it. Apparently one of the most important factors in a successful outcome is the number of surgeries that they’ve performed, and IIRC it should be over 2-300.

Here’s a decent link on things to consider.

Right. You really want to find a doctor who’s done a lot of surgeries. That’s key.