Lawyers and law students: Is a law school prep course worth the $$ ?

A question for the current and former law students out there in the SDMBverse:

I’m a 31-year-old software engineer who is about to change careers and start law school this fall. I’ve been accepted into NYU and Columbia, and should hear from Harvard any day now (as soon as the admissions committee decides they’ve had their fill of sadistically toying with me by making me wait so long).

I’ve been relying on Montauk’s How to Get Into the Top Law Schools as my guide so far, and it has served me well, I think. At this stage in the process, HTGITTLS recommends taking some classes or a prep course to get familiar with both the subjects covered in 1L, and also to get a jump on learning legal writing and how to take law school exams.

I’m considering taking either the Law Preview course or the BAR/BRI course. Both cost about the same, around $1000, which I would consider cheap if they help me get the most out of my upcoming $100K education, but which is still quite a chunk of change to me.

My questions are these:

• Has anyone taken either of these courses? Do you think they were beneficial? Did you learn new skills that helped you out, especially during your 1L year? Was it worth the $$?

• Of the two, which is generally recognized as the better program? I’m leaning towards the Law Preview one, but it seems more people have heard of BAR/BRI, probably because of their bar exam prep program.

Any insight is much appreciated.

I didn’t take a prep class, and I don’t feel like I missed out on anything. I have a hard time believing that a prep class could possible prepare you for the reality of your first year of law school; it’s a whole 'nother country.