Lawyers? Man buys land that includes public road, bars access to the public.

Vinod Khosla, California, Half Moon Bay, 1848 Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo

Is that how this is supposed to work? The treaty gives land parcels granted by the Mexican government immunity to the law so this guy can take a California State road and claim it as his own?

I hope I’m explaining this wrong, so what’s the deal here?

Wow, so ironic in so many ways. In some ways I like this to see what could happen if vast tracks of land can be actually exempt from state authority, and what this means for the many Native American treaties that have been ignored.

Great PR stunt.

I have seen things about this case off and on for a few years, but I hadn’t heard about the recent ruling. The previous articles I had read about it indicated it was not a “California State Road” so much as it was a pathway that had been used to provide the public access to the beach. I’m not a lawyer but I know in many States if your property blocks access to something the public is entitled to access then the public has some right to go through your property in order to get to the public property.

What many land owners will do is create a pathway to steer the public through so the public doesn’t just roam all over their property getting to wherever it is they are going.

It was my understanding the previous owner of the estate had such a pathway, and that is what was closed off by a gate when this guy purchased the estate. So it was a right of way to facilitate public access, but I don’t think it was quite a State road maintained by the State or anything.

Now as for how this has turned out, I do believe that in general Treaties signed by the Federal Government generally would trump any State laws, they are I believe the highest law in the land aside from the Constitution itself (so treaties also trump Federal law where they conflict, is my understanding.)