Lawyers please help (GIF patent info).

Well, lools like the patent on the GIF file type expires in the USA today, but that it is still in force in other countries for a while.

What I need to know is this: Say that I am a US software author. I would guess that I no longer need to shell out dough to the Unisys folks for using GIFs here, but what about in those other countries? Will I need to have two versions of the program now, or is the important factor that it was made here?

Thanks in advance.

I’m a developer rather than a lawyer, but I believe it’s fairly simple. If you want to distribute software using the LZW algorithm in or to a country where it’s still patented, you’ll need a license from the patent holder or you’ll be breaking the law in that country. Even if you are based in the US you’ll want to avoid that; international patent law is a can of worms best left unopened.

Thanks to PNG, the GIF format isn’t very attractive today so supporting it might not be essential. If I wanted my program to support compressed GIFs, I’d do it with a plugin available only for customers in countries where the patent has expired.

Hey, good news! If you want to know about french law, clairobscur could probably fill you in (he’s made solid posts on french law before).

If you are willing to accept a reasoned guess based on common patent principles, here’s my take. Patent law can apply to different subjects; in this case it looks as if the patent applies to a process, to wit the algorithm for packing/unpacking GIFs. It probably does not extent to the GIFS themselves (the product).