Lawyers vs best interests of clients?

My questions: What responsibility does a lawyer generally have to advise their potential or actual client that a case is a waste of the client’s money and time? Does the lawyer expose himself or herself to any liability for accepting obviously hopeless cases?

I was recently sitting in general sessions court here in TN awaiting my case to come up. (Representing myself, I won. Woot!) General sessions court in TN appears to handle all kinds of stuff: small claims, traffic, criminal, etc.
Having never been in a real court before, I entertained myself by watching the proceedings of other cases. What struck me as strange was the number of cases that were contested that, in my opinion, shouldn’t have ever gone to court. I’m not talking about cases where individuals represented themselves but cases in which one or both sides had (expensive) lawyers. I’m not a lawyer but, even with my limited knowledge, the cases were slam dunk.

Example:

A woman’s apartment building burned down and she sued the apartment company for the value of her possessions. Every time I’ve very rented an apartment, the apartment folks were very clear and repeatedly reminded residents that, in case of fire, the apartment company wasn’t responsible for renter’s possessions (and thus the renters should get renter’s insurance or deal with the loss).