Learning to play a keyboard

Someone decided to buy a keyboard for me as an early Christmas present, and I’m hoping to teach myself to play it…but sadly, I have no prior experience with trying to play a musical instrument, so I’m not sure where to begin.
Does anyone have any general advice, common pitfalls to avoid, or other stuff I should be aware of if I’m going to try to teach myself? I can’t spare the time for formal lessons since I have a pretty full load of classes as it is.

This is the keyboard in question (I hope that link works). Since I have NO prior experience, I’m wondering, does it seem like this instrument will be sufficient for me to learn to play well enough so that (eventually) I won’t embarrass myself if I play in front of my musician friends? :stuck_out_tongue: I’m not going to just go by the lighted keys…I am planning to read up on the topic and learn how to play seriously hopefully. I am a little wary about if this is going to be right for my intentions since it’s from HSN, but since this is a gift obviously I’m grateful just to be getting anything at all. :slight_smile:
Thanks for any advice!

I have a very similar keyboard. It’s great for a beginning player (like me) to learn on, but I can already tell its limitations - it’s hard to get an expressive sound out of it. There’s no key weighting, and the velocity sensitivity doesn’t seem right. I find I usually play it with the velocity sensitivity turned off, because it just doesn’t work that well (I have a slightly older model than the one you’re getting, though. Maybe they are better now.