Learning to play piano

Im currently trying to find a piano tutor so I can learn how to play piano. I think Im a pretty talented individule and Im not an idiot. How long does it take to learn to play even a simple song? A year maybe less? I have no musical experience other than singing in the shower or the car.

You can just keep on playing a song over and over again from sheet music until you’ve learnt it off by heart, that’s how I learned.

I had no interest in playing and only did so because my parents insisted I did. When I didn’t have to learn a song off by heart, I didn’t, simple as that. So if someone so disinclined as I can do it, so can you. My sister liked the piano a lot more and my Dad more so, he can sit down and improvise on a few basic chords all night long.

Best of luck :slight_smile:

How long it takes to learn a song depends solely on you. I took perhaps 6 months worth of piano lessons at about age six, and have some basic song knowledge that I’ve retained fifteen years later, with no further training on the piano at all. A couple of years ago I taught myself to play the first minute or two of Beethoven’s moonlight sonata over the course of a weekend. YMMV.

A tutor will teach you scales and chords to start with, and they’ll teach you the proper way of holding your hands - essential if you want to play for any length of time. I’ve forgotten my hand techniques, and playing for anything more than a few minutes tends to make my fingers and wrists ache deplorably. But you’ll get onto simple songs within the first few months, if you’re going on a regular basis and seem to be learning what they’re trying to teach you.