Left my debit card in an ATM --what do I do?

I just discovered that I may have left my VISA / debit card in my bank’s ATM machine this morning. :smack: I had to go into work unexpectedly and I was in a rush, so once I got my money I drove off without thinking. I’ve never done this before and I’m really ticked off at my stupidity.

I’ve already called the bank’s after-hours service and reported the card lost. They say that they’ve turned the card access off and that I’ll have to get a new card issued by my bank. Aside from that, what else should I do? I’ve checked my accounts on-line and I don’t see any transactions logged yet for today, so I’m not certain that the card has been used for anything yet. My $20 withdrawal this morning doesn’t show yet, so I’m not comforted as to the amount shown in my accounts. I guess I’ll have to wait until tomorrow to see if anything fishy has gone on.

I’m hoping that the next person in line might have been honest enough to drop the card in the night depository slot – I know that’s what I would do. Still I won’t be certain until tomorrow.

Is there anything else I should do in the meantime to protect myself from further compromises on my account?

Thanks for any info you can provide!

You should be good. You can call your bank’s customer service and check if any unauthorized transactions were put through, if you’re worried. At worst, you’d only be responsible for $50 of it, and most banks will not hold you responsible for any of it, if you report the transactions in a timely manner. Additionally, the sort of ATM where you have to fully insert your card and can’t take it out til the transaction is complete will retain an ejected card if it is left in the slot for too long–typically 2-3 minutes.