Legal disclaimers-Are They Worth Anything?

+I have always wonderd about allof that fine print (that nobody reads) on the back of theatre tickets, coat-check tickets, ski lift tickets, parking lot tickets, etc.
Usually it says something like:…" not responsible for loss by fire, theft, or any act of god. User agrees that he/she bears the risk (ski area), and seller assumes no responsibility… or words to that effect.
Anyhow, lawyesr have told me that these disclaimers are worthless…you can still sue a ski area if you ski off the trail and fracture your spine in doing so. When you park your car in a parking lot, what responsibility to you does the owner of the lot have? Are they in fact liable if some drunk trying to park his car crashes into yours?
So what’s the dope on disclaimers?:cool:

(I am a lawyer, but this is not to be construed as legal advide. If you have legal problems, contact a competent attorney licensed to practise in your jurisdiction.)

There might be some limits to what can be disclaimed, depending on the law in your jurisdiction, but as a general rule disclaimers or fine print operate as valid contractual terms. Fine print is enforced all the time by courts – on the backs of tickets, in shrinkwrap notices, in clickwrap (“I agree”) windows, etc.

But there are no easy answers to such questions.

Especially with regard to a dangerious activity like skiing, the law might shift a lot of the risk to you anyway (“assumption of risk”), but if there is actually any negligence (breach of duty) or strict liability (product liability) or tort (harm caused by intentional act) on the part of the ski operator, I suppose there might be some limits to the applicability of the disclaimer.

In any specific case, you’d have to consult a lawyer. In a lot of cases, even if the ski lift might ultimately be able to successfully assert the disclaimer, it still might be worth it to sue them, especially if you’re hurt badly – you never know, they might settle.