Legal eagles: Can a Facebook post be sufficient grounds for a libel suit?

First, yes, I know anyone can sue anyone else for anything. That’s not my question.

If I run an ad in the newspaper (you remember those?) saying “Mr John Smith is being investigated by the grand jury for conflict of interest and corruption in his city government job” then I presume that Mr John Smith would have grounds for a libel suit against me, assuming that the allegation was not true, because the allegation is seriously detrimental to Mr Smith’s reputation.

If I ran a Facebook post saying the same thing, would Mr Smith also have grounds for a libel suit against me?

Since I am not a lawyer, I have probably not used the proper terms of art, so I am open to correction, as long as it also includes an answer to the question that I am trying to ask.

Publishing on the internet is legally equivalent to publishing in a newspaper. If that’s your question.

Probably not, no. Mr. John Smith is a public figure, and defamation against a public figure requires that “actual malice” be shown, which is difficult.

See New York Times v. Sullivan and Curtis Publishing v. Butts for more.
ETA: Unless you mean by “city government job” that he’s not a government official. In that case, yes, libel is a possibility.

Not just libel. It can be sufficient cause for a criminal conviction. A woman near where I live was convicted of two counts of harassment by a telecommunications device and two counts of criminal false communication over Facebook posts.

Grand jury investigations are usually secret, so if you’re leaking actual information from those proceedings, you might have criminal charges coming as well as a defamation action for civil damages. IF John Smith is a public figure, he’d have to show actual malice to win, but that’s not a bar to filing suit.