Legal question re: music in offices

I am a psychologist and have a private practice. I rent to another psychologist, and we share a waiting room. I would like to have music in the waiting room and hallway, but I have read bits and pieces which make me wonder about the legal issues involved in just installing a CD or mp3 player. XM radio has a “music for businesses” site that they say satisfies all the laws surrounding this, but they don’t quote a price, which makes me very nervous. The space involved is less than 300 square feet, if that makes any difference, and we see about 15 people a day between us.

Am I running afoul of any laws by just playing what I want? Are there any exceptions for very small businesses such as mine? If I am breaking a law, what risk am I running?

Why don’t you just ask the other shrink what he or she wants? If they don’t like it, they can rent a space elsewhere. I’d imagine this sort of law varies greatly in different jurisdictions. As a professional, perhaps you should consult a legal professional.

Personally, I tend to dislike elevator music. Why don’t you just listen to music in your own office–when you don’t have a patient?

Uh, thanks for the response, but I think you missed the point. So as to keep us on track, let me explain a bit.

The other psychologist and I agree on choice of music–classical.

Thanks for your opinion re: elevator music, but my question is really about the legal issues involved. I could certainly consult a lawyer, but like many of us, I was hoping that someone here might point me in the right direction without charging by the hour.

I think the question is about the legality of broadcasting music in a business space, not about fighting with her professional colleague.

Technically, you need to pay ASCAP fees to play the music in a public setting, which I’m sure ASCAP would consider your office. Check out the ASCAP Licensing page for general information.