Let 'em look like idiots? Or be professional?

I work as a web developer, and part of that job is dumping in the content that clients supply for their site. I’m not particularly happy with my job, but I try to do it well.

More often than would seem likely, if it didn’t keep happening, clients give content that contains whopping errors. Usually they’re grammar and spelling problems, which I fix because they bug me, but sometimes the errors are just stupid. Just now, I copied and pasted the fact that a business delivers “to the 50 contiguous United States only.” Lawdy!

So if you were me, and intensely bored by the process, would you let clients show their stupidity, or fix the problem for them? The PR Degree half of me says fix it, the evil petty-revenge-for-my-boredom says let the public beware!

If they aren’t paying you to fix it, don’t fix it. Proofreaders are professionals, too.

Be professional. Correct the mistakes and make extra sure you didn’t make any yourself. Then provide a summary of the errors you found and the steps you took to fix them, and ask them to verify the results are what they expected.

Of course you should fix it. People who do things right go places.

Like Johnny L.A. said, sure, correct them. And document that you did.

After you complete the work, show them the changes you made. Let them know that you wanted to do your “best work”, and that includes a little bit of polishing. Perhaps they will give you a good reference in the future, as a conscientious worker.

In essence, build the bridge, don’t burn it. You’re going to be able to use it in a portfolio, and you want it to look as good as possible.

That’s just my immediate opinion, I admit I don’t know diddly about the web design business.

My wife worked for a print shop before she had our daughter. They specifically charged if they did the proofreading. Otherwise they’d just fax copies to the customers to be OKed.