Let's haggle over carpeting

We’re going to be getting carpeting soon, this will of course involve haggling over the price. I hate this aspect of making purchases… I’m not good at it, and I don’t really know how to do it.

So I’m starting this thread hoping to get some insight from the teeming millions on how to haggle over the price of carpeting.
As background info, we live in the Chicago suburbs, and will for sure be talking with the folks from Empire and Luna. We need to have the first floor done, and possible the 2nd floor as well (depending on the ultimate price).

I understand that for a huge job, there is more wiggle room on price. However, if we only want three rooms done, are they going to quote me a firm price? I was talking with a neighbor the other day who said they fully expect you to try to talk them down, just keep hammering on them to lower it further.
I can stand there and keep saying I want a lower price, but eventually they’ll just walk out, and I won’t have a firm price or any carpeting.

How do I determine in advance what a fair price is???

Haggle over carpeting? Who needs the additional stress?

Choose your carpet. Call a few places and ask for estimates for the carpet and installation. If the job involves removing old carpet and hauling it away, make sure the estimate includes that.

It’s not like plumbing or construction or electrical work, where surprises might crop up that would make the job cost more, so the estimate should be firm.

Yup. If you don’t like to haggle then calling up 5 or so places and getting estimates is a good way.

All other things being equal, choose the second lowest bid.

Don’t skimp on replacement carpet. Get quality stuff that will last, like Stainmaster.

I’m also not fond of haggling, especially if it seems like I’m insulting the value of someone’s work.

However, it doesn’t cost anything to politely ask something along the lines of “are your prices negotiable?” or “how flexible are on on the price?”