Libby Reviews

I’ve been using Overdrive to listen to audio library books for quite a few years. Whenever I’ve opened the app in the last 6 months or so it “warns” me that Overdrive will be switching over to Libby in the beginning of 2023. At some point this summer I downloaded and set up the Libby app. I tried using it then but really hated it. As of today, I’m still able to use Overdrive, but have been slowly trying to transition over to Libby. I still hate it. Has anyone else here been using Libby? What do you think?

/subscribe i’m getting the same warnings.

Hm. After having used Overdrive for some time. I’ve been using Libby exclusively for 2-3 years. I haven’t had a whole lot of issues with it, as it does what I need it to do. I use it on my Android Smartphone, and listen to a lot of content in my car via Bluetooth.

I have 3 libraries set up, so I can usually find what I’m looking for. I will say that the search function could probably be improved, but, to me, that’s a minor inconvenience.

OP, why don’t you like about it?

I’ve been using Overdrive at my library to find and check out ebooks, for several years now. I just took a look and the link says “Libby (Overdrive)” so I guess that part has already changed over at some time in the past. The fact that I never noticed indicates to me that the differences, if any in this part of Overdrive, were not obvious to a fairly frequent user.

I use Libby and it’s fine for my audiobook needs, I have never used Overdrive.

I love Overdrive. I even put off upgrading my laptop (still at MacOS 13) so it’ll still work.

Wish I could keep it, and haven’t seen the “No Overdrive, only Libby” warnings.

HOW did you do this? I keep hearing of people finding libraries that will let you “take out” their books and audiobooks.

My home library is medium size, but often is missing key books (they’ll often have Books 2 and 3 of a trilogy).