Life in the Big City?

This was inspired by Eve’s thread on “Why you live where you do” (http://boards.straightdope.com/sdmb/showthread.php?threadid=35571&pagenumber=1).

I’ve spent most of my life living in smallish towns. These towns came in two varieties: suburbs which were boring, and college towns which were considerably less so. In fact, before moving to the current (boring) rural area, I hung out in the area where I got my PhD about as long as I reasonably could, and then some. I like rural areas. I like hiking and canoeing and gardening and open space and I’m not overly fond of crowds and traffic. So I’m not terribly unhappy with my life choices. But it’s a pretty monastic, contemplative existence I lead. Every once in a while, I suspect that I might be missing something. I begin to wonder if those people who live in the Big City are experiencing life to the fullest while I sit out in the garden and watch the bats fly about.

So here’s the question: for you folks who live in the City (any city), is your life one mad whirl of social and cultural events? Do you have but to go out clubbing to meet glamorous and attractive members of the opposite sex? Or do you find life more of a grim, dehumanizing daily struggle against angst and alienation in a concrete wasteland? Or is it like, you know, pretty much like living anywhere else?

Things I like about big city life:

I’m never bored – even on Sundays, there are always things to do
The variety of activities open to me
Better public transport than in the small towns I’ve lived in before

Things I don’t like:

Pollution
The comparative lack of wide open spaces
The atmosphere of distrust and unfriendliness – nobody seems to trust anyone. London feels like the only place in the world where meeting someone’s eyes in the street is grounds for justifiable homicide
The insecurity brought on by a greater fear of crime
The sheer number of drunks and scary, scary people on the underground line I use