Linguistics

Since another thread (Reading Old English) was getting severely hijacked, here’s as good a place as any to broach whatever floats your boat about Linguistics.

I’ll start.

Why the heck does everyone have to ask me how many languages I know when they find out my major is Linguistics?

For their edification (and also because my head’s not doing well against that brick wall), from Merriam-Webster:

Be so kind as to notice definition two. {BTW, I can converse in more than one language.}

Whatever you consider to be your favourite language, what one thing tops the list of things that make it your favourite?

the cursing

sleeping: How about telling us the name of the language and giving an example of its cursing? What is it about the cursing that fascinates you?

See, this is why I’m careful to call myself a linguistician. Of course, you have to be careful about calling yourself a linguistician, otherwise you can spray the entire room with spit.

(I did try to get people to call me a “linguisticist”, but they all reckoned I was just taking the mickey.)

Yeah, I get the “how many languages do you speak” question all the time. Probably doesn’t help that I’m also majoring in French. That’s why I usually just say that I’m majoring in Broke. (or in Being A Grad Student)

Of course, my university’s been using underhanded tactics to intimidate everyone out of the Ling department so that when it goes under review it will be deemed too small to keep, so it’s a bit of a touchy topic 'round here.

English is still my favorite. Perhaps because of the way the language developed geographically/historically, it can aquire and adapt any expressions or nuances that it needs from other languages. Rigid structure, adaptable vocabulary. Very handy, indeed…