Linux Display Resolution for Newbie

Greetings!

I know a lot about computer hardware and software, but unfortunately I’m a Linux newbie.

I’m trying to set the display resolution on my Dell Inspiron 6000 which is equipped with the optional ATI Mobility Radeon X300. I downloaded the ATI Linux driver for this and ran it according to the instructions. The instructions dry up, however, exactly at the point I need them the most!

After I run the driver installer, it tells me to “save my X window configuration file, run aticonfig --initial, and then reboot”.

OK, what is the name of my X window configuration file, and how do I “save” it, and where do I save it?

By the way, if I try to run aticonfig --initial without “saving” my X window configuration, I get a warning

Could not find configuration file
Please copy configuration file template to /etc/X11

which I would happily do if I knew what it was! :smack:

I freely admit that this is something I should know how to do, but I don’t. I’m not even sure where to look! In the Windos wordl I’d look on microsoft.com, but for Linux/Un*x a search on “x” or even “X windows configuration file” yields too much.

Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Which distribution are you using?

In Debian-based distros, such as Ubuntu, it should be under /etc/X11/xorg.conf (or, uh, XF86config-4? I don’t remember; my Sarge boxes are all headless.)

In Redhat based distros, it’s something similar. Do an ls /etc and look for likely directories.

But really, it’s all gonna depend on what particular flavor of distro you’ve got.

BTW, “X server” is a generic term. In Linux, it usually refers to one of two implementations of the X Windows System: XFree86, which is the original open source versions, and X.Org, which is a more recent fork that came in to being a couple of years ago amid some licensing controversy over XFree86.