Listen to this song to settle a disagreement

It’s called Black Haired Girl by Jesse Malin. It’s sort of Springsteen-esque

Anyway, I think it has some significant country influence in it and my friend says there is no country influence whatsoever - it's a pure rock song.

He knows WAY more about music - chord progressions, evolution of music, etc, so I don’t really have the tools to argue more than, “I can hear some country in there.”

Anyway, I’m interested in a casual Yes/No opinion to see if I’m way off base, but also interested in ‘proof’ either way.

Thanks for any help!

Can’t prove it (because I’m not a musician) but I know when I hear it, and this has some serious country music leaning twang going on. Mostly (but not entirely) it’s in the vocal delivery - the guy has a country drawl, at least to my ear.

I hear no country in this, really; to me, it’s just a big slab o’ meat and potatoes rock and roll (think Mellencamp, seasoned with a pinch or two of BuckCherry).

Not looking for a fight, but there is NO trace of “country” in that song. The singer’s diction isn’t very good, but he isn’t “singing through his nose,” and there isn’t any “country” instrumentation I can detect.

I don’t hear much country, apart from a slight twang in the guy’s voice. That’s straight rock.

That’s pretty much what I was going to say.

a land feature metaphor does not make it a country song.

Not a country song, instrumentation or delivery… but I kinda see why the OP might think so. Just listen to “country” radio for a bit. Most of what is on would have been considered straight-up rock music two decades ago. Sometimes a bit of banjo or fiddle is present, but that doesn’t make it country music.

And I’m not saying any of that in a judgmental way (good vs. bad). I like rock, I like country and I like blues, if it’s good. But I’m not hearing country in the linked song.