Live music suddenly in demand!?

I’ve been an amateur musician all my life (guitar, vocals, harmonica). When I was in high school and college, I made money playing in bar bands. In one night, I could make the equivalent of one to two 8-hour days of minimum wage work. And we weren’t very good.

After graduating and getting a day job, I became interested in playing out about 20 years ago, solo acoustic guitar this time. Live music had fallen in value. For one thing, it was easier to learn to play and sing half-ways decently, from all the online resources (no more learning songs off records) so there were more musicians looking for gigs. Also, technology had reduced the value of live performances, and even DJs (who could put their entire night on mp3 players, and later, iPhones). Karaoke appealed more to a lot of people (and they worked for free) than live bands. Bars were more likely to ask bands to play “for exposure”. No one asked us to play for exposure in the 1970s.

I’ve continued to play pretty much every day, and am always learning new material and styles, and writing. I play out occasionally, usually in support of friends’ bands and venues, gratis. It’s nice to not need the money, having done well in my day job. I also enjoy the freedom of playing whatever obscure repertoire I want to, vice the same tired Skynyrd/Buffet/Zeppelin canon I played forty years ago.

But recently…

I’m playing in two new venues. FOR MONEY! Not much money. Not as much as I made in high school (accounting for inflation). But both venues (a bar, and a bookstore) had notices up that they were hiring musicians. I called, emailed them links to my performances, and was in.

WHAT GIVES?

One possibility: with the COVID lockdown, lots of musicians who were playing out for money–and wanted/needed the money–had to give it up and find other part-time employment. That leaves musicians who aren’t interested in making money.