Loews Hardware stores: Do they cut plywood for free?

As I preface many of my posts: I’m a college student who needs a little help since I’m on a limited cash…

I need 2 sheets of plywood cut (Maybe around 4ftx3ft each)

Like many college students I don’t have a circular saw or the willingness to spend money to buy one.

Any idea if there is a charge to get plywood cut for you at these stores?

You meant “Lowes” I assume. And “Home Depot” have similar policies.
They will make one cut at not charge assuming you buy a 4 x 8 sheet and have one piece cut to 4 x 3. If you get a congenial service person they MAY cut the second at no or minimum charge.
OTOH call by phone and ask.

Around here, Lowes and Home Depot give you the first two cuts for free, then 50¢ per after that.

Do call them first and check that the panel saw is working. At the HD near my home, it’s was as often broken as it is working until they replaced it recently.

Also, be sure to know the size pieces you need. “About” will probably win you a blank stare. And, be ready to pick a piece of plywood (watch out for bashed corners, splits, and other assorted uglies) and bring it to the saw. They’re not completely full-service. :smiley:

I had this done at Lowes two times this weekend. It was about 8 cuts each load. They give you a couple of cuts and then charge the minimal amount of .$39 or so for each additional cut. I don’t even know if they charged me at all. I have a table saw but the service is well worth it and extremely cheap. I don’t think they will do fancy cuts however.

At Home Depot we did cuts generaly free of charge it was only when someone would want us to spend a ton of time cutting several peices that we pointed out it will cost them.

It is against policy to cut and processed material like paneling or doors. Also it is a no no to cut PT but that generaly isn’t followed.

I’m sure Lowes has similar policies

wow, all those answers help considerably!

Now, let me throw one more in the mix.