Long Bike Trips - What Should I Know?

Sometime within the near future I am planning on taking a bike trip to and through the San Juan Islands, which is about 70 miles away. Granted, this is not an enormous bicycle trip. I know somebody who has biked from Eastern China to Thailand, zigzagging back and forth just in case he might miss any third world countries along the way. However, it is long to me because I am completely new to the field of bicycle-only travel.

I don’t mean to ask such a vague question, but, to anyone who has taken large bicycle trips: What should I prepare for? How should I prepare? What should I devote my precious backpack space too? You get my drift.

Thanks in advance,
Joey

Slight correction: I am going to take this trip with a friend of mine, Sam. Just in case that is relavent.

You need to take tools in your backpack, in the event of a breakdown. V. important, nothing would suck more than having to walk your bicycle miles and miles because its broke. I typically take one or more spare inner tubes, bike pump, patch kit and a multi-tool. The last item is very small and contains approx twenty mini tools that are useful for bike maintenance. This is the bare minimum really, a cellphone is also good to take in the event of an emergency.

As well as taking the tools, you need to know how to use them :slight_smile:

If you’re riding on the roads and things are fairly flat then a seventy mile trip will be no problem. If you’re in good overall shape you can do this in a day at sightseeing pace, if you want to. If you’re out of shape, or the route is particularly hilly, then you will probably want to spread the trip across two or more days.